SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search

Old 05-18-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
BigBad2374
BigBad2374 is on a distinguished road

2001 SL1
Default Trying to replace brake shoes on 2001 SL1

Brake pads were a breeze. Went to change the shoes, which have never been changed, and ran into a problem. I can't seem to get the drum off. Any tips on how to do this would be appreciated. Plus I'm a noob at doing the shoes so any info on doing them would also be appreciated. (i.e. watch out for, make sure to, etc...) Or if there is a step by step that has been posted before and I could get a link, that'd be great too. I'm going to keep surfing the site just in case I run across one.

Greenhorn with anything mechanical, but learning.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BigBad2374's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BigBad2374 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BigBad2374 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-18-2009, 04:43 PM   #2
Squareback
Squareback is a jewel in the roughSquareback is a jewel in the roughSquareback is a jewel in the roughSquareback is a jewel in the rough

2005 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Trying to replace brake shoes on 2001 SL1

Smack the face of the drum with a hammer in between the studs. It will pop off. Do yourself a favor and start the lugs on all 4 studs before you do it....one glancing blow with the hammer on the stud and you'll be replacing it. Don't be afraid to hit it, it will come off.