SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 05:16 PM   #1
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default oil pressure gauge

i have an 01 saturn sl2 ... where do i tap in the oil feed line??

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 10-26-2008, 06:51 PM   #2
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 40,447
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

The easiest place to tap would be off the oil pressure sending unit port by using a 'T' fitting. There may another port but someone else will have to suggest where.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 10:43 PM   #3
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

and where is this unit located?? i was under the car today and didn't really see anywhere i could use

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 11:48 PM   #4
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 64,568
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

You have to unscrew it. I think its a metric thread but you will know once its out of there. Its the black plastic switch close to the knock sensor below the alternator.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:26 AM   #5
TomM96
Senior Member
TomM96 will become famous soon enoughTomM96 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

Yes , along back of block toward bottom you can see a ridge which is probably the internal oil gallery, on that.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TomM96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TomM96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TomM96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:27 AM   #6
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 40,447
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldNuc View Post
You have to unscrew it. I think its a metric thread but you will know once its out...
Heh-heh, not a good way to find this one. Perhaps this might help.......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oil sending unit-1.jpg (15.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg oil senduing unit-2.jpg (9.4 KB, 16 views)

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:36 AM   #7
TomM96
Senior Member
TomM96 will become famous soon enoughTomM96 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

On my '96 it was a metric thread of a size used for some crankcase drainplugs; it was not a tapered pipethread. [on the order of M12X1.75 , i think but be sure to check/measure]

The point being that mine was not an easy item for a stock/off-shelf Tee-fitting.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TomM96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TomM96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TomM96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:01 PM   #8
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

and its a mechanical gauge... i found the one bolt with the harness going to it... cant seem to find a bolt i can use for my mechanical gauge

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:04 PM   #9
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

could i remove that oil sending unit all together and just use my mechanical gauge?? or will my oil light be on constantly

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 12:42 AM   #10
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 64,568
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

You need the oil pressure switch. Find a tee fitting they are not that rare or difficult to find.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:42 AM   #11
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 40,447
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

Does he? If the sender is left off there won't be any 'idiot' light if the mechanical oil pressure set-up is relied on. As I understand it our oil sending unit just closes a switch to ground the wire when pressure is low turning on the light. Pressure builds up and the switch opens, lights off? Eliminating the sending unit will just disable the oil light but now depends on the pressure gauge, which is wanted.

sl2ner08, its your choice to leave the stock sending unit off and tie off the ground wire with electrical tape. You won't see the oil light on anymore and can depend on the mechanical pressure gauge set-up. You can always go back to the original stock set-up. By having a 'T' fitting you have the best of both; the idiot light before starting, going off at engine start-up and then the pressure gauge indicating pressure build-up. Just like the very old (Neanderthal) days before the idiot light was invented to eliminate the plumbing mess.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:19 AM   #12
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

so if i don't remove the bolt with the little harness on it what bolt do i remove?? im having trouble finding this one.. is there even another one other then the harness bolt?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 10:59 AM   #13
TomM96
Senior Member
TomM96 will become famous soon enoughTomM96 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

Sl2~
re > "the bolt with the little harness on it..."

The item in question is an 'oil pressure sensor' ; this is a transducer which enables the light on the instrument panel to know when to glow.

Mechanically , the item consists of a cylindrical threaded metallic section containing a pressure sensor and including a flat integral disc toward the upper section (which presses on a similar flat around the tapped hole in block, sealing against oil leaks), and also an electrical connector to enable a wire to communicate the designed message.

You need :
- remove electrical connector , with care
-remove (unscrew) the sensor (which , yes , bears resemblance to "bolts")
-ascertain the thread diameter and pitch of the tapped hole and OEM sensor threaded shank
-find if any of the adapters which were included with your pressure gage kit are compatible with the threaded hole in the block
-find out if you can get an appropriate Tee fitting ...
-etc
-'run'/route the mechanical gaga tubing with great care , providing support and slack to allow the engine to move normally in operation , without having the tubing be cut , abraded , or melted
-mount gage (and associated illumination apparatus) where visible....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TomM96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TomM96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TomM96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:12 PM   #14
sl2ner08
Member
sl2ner08 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

so i don't need to replace the oil pressure sender?? i can just leave the stock harness disconnected?? will it throw up my oil light?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sl2ner08's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sl2ner08 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sl2ner08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:10 PM   #15
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 40,447
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

If you leave the original oil pressure sender off the engine and leave the wire off, you'll have no oil light anymore. That's it in a nutshell.

You'll have to use your oil pressure parts to fill the hole.

The oil light will only light up when all the lights turn on during the ignition ON cycle (as part of the lamp test only), then turn off and stay off because you removed the wire and sending unit.

Last edited by fdryer; 10-31-2008 at 09:16 PM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 06:37 AM   #16
BarnOwl
Super Member
BarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really nice
 
BarnOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 10,025
 

2000 SW2
1998 SL2
Default Re: oil pressure gauge

There are actually several plugs along the back of the engine. You don't have to use the hole for the pressure sensor.

...
There is nothing more frightening than ignorance in action.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BarnOwl's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BarnOwl reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BarnOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil pressure gauge 1999with160 S-Series Tech 0 10-10-2009 07:43 AM
Where to get an oil pressure gauge Blammer S-Series Tech 9 11-29-2007 11:06 AM
oil pressure gauge koolkash_45 S-Series General 3 10-08-2005 10:45 AM
oil pressure gauge koolkash_45 S-Series General 1 06-21-2005 10:44 AM
removed odometer from gauge cluster, now gas gauge & oil pressure gauge don't work DJboozeAlot S-Series Tech 18 04-06-2005 02:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.